If you are looking for the Reportance Desktop help, please click here.

Managing Firm Details and Users

To edit your firm's details you must be logged in as an Administrator or an Owner.


From the anywhere in Reportance, navigate to the Admin Centre from the navigation menu in the top right corner of the screen. From here you can access many different administration settings. This article will focus on the Firm settings.


There are three different components to firm settings:

  1. Offices
  2. Teams
  3. Users




Managing a firm's offices

Offices are for different registered entities (i.e. each entity has its own ABN and reporting name). Generally, they represent physical office locations or different parts of a business such as Audit and Tax & Accounting. This will depend on your individual organisation structure. For example; Brisbane office, Sydney office, etc. 


To show a list of your current offices, navigate to the Admin Centre by clicking on the dropdown menu in the top right of the screen and then click on Offices. Here you can add, edit or delete offices for your firm.


Note: By default a 'Main Office' will exist for every firm. It is recommended to edit this office before adding other offices.



Adding a new office 


To add a new office click + New Office and complete the following details.


 

Each office must have at least one Administrator user. To add a user, click on + Add User and complete the details, before clicking Save. We recommend that the Administrator be the same as the Owner/Administrator the firm was set-up with. 


Note: A user must be set up in the system before they can be added to an office.



To save the office click Save and Close. You will be redirected back to the list of offices.



Editing and deleting an office


To edit an existing office simply click on the relevant office from the office list and you will be taken to the details screen where you can make changes. After making the required changes click the Save and Close button. To delete, select the Delete button from the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. A confirmation box will be displayed to confirm the action. 


WARNING: Deleting an office cannot be reversed and is final.



Managing a firm's teams

Teams can be used to manage different teams within an office. In a traditional accounting firm, each partner forms a separate team.


Note: A team can only belong to one office even if there are team members from different offices.  


To show a list of your current offices, navigate to the Admin Centre by clicking on the dropdown menu in the top right of the screen and then click on Teams. Here you can add, edit or delete teams for your firm.



Adding a team


To add a new team click + New Team and complete the following details:



Each team must have at least one 'Admin' and 'Manager'. It is recommended that the Administrator is the same as the Owner/Administrator the firm was set-up with. It is also recommended that the Manager be the person responsible for the team. Generally, this is a partner or principal. 


To add a user, click on + Add User and complete the details, before clicking Save and Close


Note: A user must be set up in the system before they can be added to a team.




Editing and deleting a team


To edit an existing team simply click on the relevant team and you will be taken to the details screen where you can edit the details. After making the required changes click the Save and Close button. To delete, select the Delete button from the bottom right-hand corner of the screen. A confirmation box will be displayed to confirm the action.  


WARNING: Deleting a team cannot be reversed and is final.



Managing a firm's users


Users represent individual users and their login. A user can be assigned to both an office and a team. There is no limit to how many offices or teams a user can be added to. 


To show a list of your users, navigate to the Admin Centre by clicking on the dropdown menu in the top right of the screen and then click on Users. Here you can add, edit or inactivate your users.  


Note: There must be, at all times, at least one user with the security role of Owner. By default this is the user who received the original firm registration email. 



Adding a New User

 

To add a new user click + New User and complete the following details:



Security roles


There are three different security roles a user can be given, as outlined below:


1. User: A User security role is a basic/standard user and does not have access to the Admin Centre.


2. Admin: An Admin security role has access to the Admin Centre. They can do the following things:

  • Add/edit/delete offices, teams and users
  • Edit default firm matching rules and the standard chart of accounts
  • Add/edit/delete firm reports, including report masters, page templates, page layouts and notes


3. Owner: An Owner is essentially the same as the Admin user, but they are the user who received the original firm registration email. 



Offices and teams


A user must be assigned to at least one office. To add a user to an office select + Add to Office. From here you can select the office and security roles that the user has within the office. In addition, a user can also be a standard user or allocated as a partner and/or manager. These fields are used in reporting and allocation of clients.


A user is not required to be added to a team, however it is the recommended approach that they are added to a team where possible. To add a user to a team select + Add to team. From here you can select the team and security roles that the user has within the team. In addition, a user can also be a standard user or allocated as a Team Manager. These fields are used in reporting and allocation of clients.


The final step is to click Save and Close. The user will receive an invitation email where they will be directed to a user registration page to set their password and details. 



Editing and inactivating a user


To edit an existing user simply click on the relevant user and you will be taken to the details screen where you can edit their details. After making the required changes click the Save and Close button. 


Once a user has accepted their invitation they cannot be deleted, they can only be inactivated. If a user has not accepted their invitation yet, inactivating them will remove them from the system. To inactivate a user, edit the user and select the Inactive checkbox.



Next article: Managing the Standard Chart of Accounts



Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.